top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnechy

Poesía de Verano

Updated: Nov 12, 2019



I started writing poetry and short stories at a young age. It runs in my family. I discovered years laters that my dad wrote poetry. My aunt is a natural rhyme improviser and my mother, when inspired, can write beautiful poems too. It's a passion that has never passed for me. I always carry a notepad with me, I see poetry on everything. I have written over 1000 poems in Spanish. I was part of a poetry work shop in Havana since I was 17 years old.


Since I moved to the States, I felt the urge to write in English because I love to share my work and my friends do not speak Spanish. Well, it doesn't come that naturally in English. I keep working on it and I'm in search for a writing group to work with and learn how to express myself in verses. it is an art that brings me great joy.


This poem I'm sharing in Spanish, is part of my album: My Late Childhood Poems. Inspired by the hundreds of children I performed for and who made me feel like a child again.


"Cocuyo" is a lighting bug, a beetle. We find them in Cuba in the fall. Their light ranges from green to blue and they are fun to catch and put in a jar. I loved putting them on the palm of my hand; they make a clicking noise. During the day "Cocuyos" disappear, maybe into the ground or in the foliage of the trees and as children we waited anxiously for dusk to come.


In this poem I talk about singing a lullaby to a "Cocuyo" so he can sleep in the morning. It speaks of hoping the sun would never exhaust his light, or the birds wouldn't silent his clicking sound, or the morning dew would't change his name. I talk about setting him free every evening, to let him light up my steps and quiet my dreams. I asked him to paint with his light when the night is very still, and to show me his sweet eyes when he takes off in flight.


Anechymade

Cocuyo Quiero arrullarte cocuyo,

para que duermas la mañana.

Que no te apague el sol,

o te enmudezca la alondra,

ni el verde campo en rocío

modifiqué tu nombre.

Liberarte cocuyito,

todas las noches quiero,

para que alumbres mis pasos,

para que aquietes mis sueños.

Pinta con tus luces

todo cuando haya quedado quieto,

y tu dulce mirada, cocuyo,

muéstramela en tu vuelo.

Julio/2007

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page