top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnechy

Roads to Freedom

To be a woman

The three stars in my movie
Life, Liberty and Happiness

Being a woman is not easy. I remember when I was in elementary school and my bubs started growing. The boys had plotted to touch me. To boys, it was like a game. But to me it was anguishing. I didn't know what was happening to my body or why. I had to walk around covering my breast. That's when I felt what being a woman meant for the first time. Then society had all these raw models. I was expected to be accommodating, patient, and willing to sacrifice for others to gain respect and acceptance. That created competition. This competition let to judgment. The judging, to jealousy. Jealousy led to dividing. We got upset with each other because of these models we were desperately trying to imitate.

I felt the pressure even from my family. One day I realized my brother wasn't in the same predicament. I learned an even harder lesson. Men feel entitled to the things we do. I have to admit that compared to my grandmother's times, things are a lot better. But the taboo on women is so strong, that even some of us consider certain jobs as men's jobs. When in reality the only difference between us is our physiology. We all have the same capacity to work, learn, think, act, fight, and govern. The only thing men can't do is give birth. But they get to sit on the head of the table, they get the biggest portions of food, they make the important decisions in the country and they don't get judged as we do. Was this inequality started by the church? Or by the power elite? That doesn't matter anymore. We are at a point in human history that a lot of veils had been lifted off our faces. We know better what we should or shouldn't do. We could be working together to make this world better. A place in which women are accepted and respected equally. Roads to freedom


As a homage to the importance of women in the history of our kind, I'm creating a puppet show/movie. Roads to Freedom follows the paths of three women in their struggles. They break the wall of fear to fight against inequality, poverty, and repression. This is a story about human rights. A reminder of how important is to vote.


The story is based on women I've met, whose stories have touched me deeply. They were an example of bravery and perseverance. This movie is for them, and for all the women in the world whose voices have been quiet or lessened.

As a creator making a clay-motion style movie for the first time, is a challenge. I'm enjoying the process and exploring photography. This is a new space for me to perform and create an audience since performing life is not safe for now. As an exploring artist, I would like to invite my audience to participate. Leave me a message here or on Instagram @anechymade. AnechyMade

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page