top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnechy

My galley

I'm looking forward to our wonderful floating dream home: Salty Shores. I had never sailed before when I first got on board 9 years ago. And as it was expected, I got very seasick. That didn't turn me off, because I new it was a great and unique experience I was not willing to miss. I loved everything about cruising, even the extensive amount of work that it requires. The thing I love the most? The galley.


Making cabbage burritos during a passage in the BVIs

When we get on shore, one of the most amusing things to me is go to the local markets to buy fresh-organic produce and fresh caught fish.


Fresh Mahi, Tuna and Mahi roe from Les Saintes, Guadeloupe

Farmers market in Saint Pierre, Martinique

My favorite way to create a dish: I start cooking in my head as I walk through the markets.

A lot of the dishes that come out of my galley are produced by my imagination. There are not written recipes and I don't know if I could ever reproduce them in the exact same way. There is something magic about cooking on board of Salty Shores. Or it might be the flavors of the Caribbean, my place of origin? I'm going to try to expose the different combinations, and hope that it inspire you to play with this flavors.

First in my list: Indian Curry Veggie Napoleon



Following the trends of stacking veggies and naming it after the tricolor ice cream; I came up with this dish. I had all sorts of fresh produce, plenty of curry and clarified butter. The preparations usually takes longer. Elaborated dishes multiply that time even more. But I love it. I spiralized zucchini squash and beets, cut the eggplant julienne style and shaved the carrots with a potato peeler. In a saucepan I heated the clarify butter or ghee. I saute the curry powder, finely chopped onions, mashed garlic, cardamon, ginger and when everything had browned and was soft I turned it off with fresh diced roma tomatoes. I simmered the sauce to reduce it, added the hint of salt and set it aside.

I saute all the veggies separated in olive oil and saved the beets for last since they would turn everything red. Meanwhile I put fresh mint, olive oil and a quarter of a garlic clove in my mini bullet and blended it to make a mint sauce. I used my mold to do the presentation of the dish and garnished it with carrots, the mint sauce and sweet peppers.

Now that I went back in time to that magic night of cooking in my galley I can make that dish again. Are you coming for dinner?

Stay tuned for more from my Galley

Made by Anechy


21 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page